An Open Letter to the Western Australian Government calling for a permanent ban on fracking

Dear Premier and Ministers of the Government of Western Australia

Unconventional oil and gas development in Western Australia should not go ahead under any circumstances.

The consequences of global warming are already extremely serious including loss of human life, extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems and property damage.

Western Australia is already experiencing severe impacts of global warming, which will become far worse if emissions are not decisively reduced.

Within our children's lifetime, average summer temperatures in Western Australia could rise by up to 6.5 degrees, with even higher extremes. Bushfires and drought will increase, rainfall will continue to reduce in the populated south west, agriculture will decline, heat stress deaths will increase, among many other devastating impacts.²

Our view is based on the scientifically robust carbon budget framework. On this basis, most existing fossil fuel reserves must remain unburned. Any new fossil fuel development is incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement that aims to hold the rise in global temperature to well below 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels and to pursue every effort to limit the rise to 1.5°C.3

Unconventional gas resources in Western Australia are some of the largest unexploited potential sources of carbon in the world.⁴ Opening these to exploitation would, in our view, be grossly irresponsible given urgency of the climate situation.

As scientists and experts concerned about the wellbeing of the people of Western Australia and the rest of the world, we strongly urge that unconventional oil and gas is permanently banned in Western Australia.

Professor Fiona Stanley AC, FAA, FASSA,

Distinguished Research Professor, University of Western Australia; Australian of the Year

Professor Tim FlanneryChief Councillor of the Climate Council

Professor Lesley Hughes

Distinguished Professor of Biology Macquarie of War (Australia) University; Climate Council Councillor

Professor Hilary Bambrick

Head of School, Public Health and Social Work, Queensland University of Technology

Associate Prof Tilman Ruff AM, FRACP

Nossal Institute for Global Health, School of Population and Global Health, University of

Associate Prof Shauna Murray

Climate Change Cluster (C3), University of Technology, Sydney

Professor Rob Moodie AM

Professor of Public Health University of Melbourne, University of Malawi

Professor John Quiggin VC Senior Research Fellow, School of Economics, University of Queensland

Adjunct Professor Frank H Talbot AM, FRZS

Adjunct Professor, Macquarie University

Professor Rick Cavicchioli

Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, University of NSW

Councillor, Climate Council; Climate Scientist, Australian National University

Associate Prof Malte Meinshausen

Tim Forcey

Energy Advisor; former Gas Principal AEMO; former gas specialist Exxon, Esso BHP,

Associate Prof Bayden WoodDirector Centre for Biospectroscopy, Monash University

Former senior executive Royal Dutch Shell; former Chairman of the Australian Coal Association; former CEO of the Australian Institute of Company Directors; chairman the original Australian Government Greenhouse Office Experts Group on Emissions Trading

Dr Sue Wareham AOM

President, Medical Association for Prevention

Senior Economist, Vivid Economics; Honorary Lecturer, Australian National University

Professor Ove Hoegh Guldberg

Professor and Director, Global Change Institute, University of Queensland

Dr Will J Grant

Senior Lecturer, Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, The Australian National University

Alan Pears AM

Senior Industry Fellow, RMIT University

Professor John Church

Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales

Professor Steven Sherwood

ARC Laureate Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate System Science and ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes, UNSW Climate Change Research

Professor Michael Ashley

Department of Astrophysics, University of New South Wales

Professor of Environmental Change Biology, School of Natural Sciences, University of

Professor Ian Lowe

Griffith University

Dr Brett Murphy

Senior Research Fellow, Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods, Charles Darwin University

Faculty of Science, School of Psychological Science, UWA; former Premier of Western Australia

Dr Peter Dart

Institute for Future Environments, Queensland Professor Hans Lambers FRNAAS, FAA University of Technology

Director, Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub

Professor John Wiseman

Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute, Adjunct Professor, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, The University of

Professor Andy PitmanDirector of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes, The University of New

Graeme Pearman AM FAA FTSEFormer Chief, CSIRO Atmospheric Research; Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne

Dr Liz Hanna PhD, MPH, BA, RCCN, RN

FPHAA, FACN Honorary Senior Fellow, Climate Change Institute, Australian National University

PhD Researcher, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, UK

CEO and Managing Director/Senior Scientist, Climate Analytics

Research Fellow, Quantitative and Applied Ecology Group, University of Melbourne

Professor Malcolm McCulloch FAA FRS ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef

Studies, The University of Western Australia

Professor Philip Jennings BSc (Hons) UWA, PhD Harvard

Emeritus Professor of Physics and Energy Studies, Murdoch University

Fiona ArmstrongFounder and Executive Director, Climate and Health Alliance; Westpac / Financial Review 100 Women of Influence (2016)

Executive Director, The Australia Institute

Dr Richard Denniss

Chief Economist, The Australia Institute

Emeritus Professor at UWA; Adjunct **Professor at Curtin University**

Professor Charles Watson

Emeritus John Curtin Distinguished Professor of Health Sciences, Curtin University

Associate Professor John Bailey BSc, PhD Emeritus Professor, School of Veterinary and

Life Sciences, Murdoch University **Professor Bruce Armstrong AM FAA**

Adjunct Professor, School of Global and

Population Health, UWA; Emeritus Professor. School of Public Health, University of Sydney

Professor Peter Newman AO

John Curtin Distinguished Professor of Sustainability, Curtin University Sustainability Policy (CUSP) Institute, School of Design and the Built Environment, Western Australian Scientist of the Year 2018

Dianne Katscherian

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at Curtin University

Tim BuckleyDirector of Energy Finance Studies, Australasia, the Institute for Energy

Bruce Robertson

Investment Analyst, the Institute for Energy

Adjunct Professor Peter Sainsbury Sydney Medical School, University of Notre

Professor Richard J Hobbs

IAS Distinguished Fellow, School of Biological Sciences. The University of Western Australia

Director, Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales

