# More Fracking in the NT Should **Not Go Ahead Under Any Circumstances**

## An Open Letter to

+ the Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the NT + the Northern Territory Government

Dear Chair, Inquiry Panel Members, and Ministers —

Development of onshore shale gas and shale oil fields in the Northern Territory should not go ahead under any circumstances.

The consequences of global warming are already extremely serious; including loss of human life, extreme weather, destruction of natural ecosystems and property damage.

The Northern Territory is in the region likely to experience the most severe impacts of global warming. For example, it is highly susceptible to temperature increases. In Darwin the number of days over 35°C is expected to increase from 11 per year currently to up to 308 in 2070 if emissions are not reduced. Heatwaves have killed more Australians than any other extreme weather events.

The Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the Northern Territory has found that the development of a single new onshore shale gas field would increase Australia's greenhouse gas emissions by 5%. This is a large and unacceptable increase in Australia's emissions. It is completely incompatible with Australia's carbon budget and our commitments under the Paris agreement.

The Northern Territory Government submitted a higher scenario of shale gas production to the inquiry. It would result in lifecycle emissions equal to 18% of Australia's greenhouse pollution. Given the amount of shale gas identified, emissions could be higher still.

Our view is based on the scientifically robust carbon budget framework. On this basis, most existing fossil fuel reserves must remain unburned. Any new fossil fuel development is incompatible with the goal of the 2015 Paris climate agreement that aims to limit the rise in global temperature to well below 2.0°C above pre-industrial levels and to make every effort to limit the rise to 1.5°C.

As scientists and experts concerned about the wellbeing of the people of the Northern Territory, Australia and the rest of the world, we strongly urge that that onshore shale gas and shale oil development does not go ahead in the Northern Territory under any circumstances.

### **Professor Peter Doherty AC**

Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 1996, Australian of the Year 1997, Laureate Professor

### **Professor Fiona Stanley AC FFA**

Distinguished Research Professor, School of Paediatrics and Child Health; Australian of the Year 2003

### **Professor Lesley Hughes**

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Integrity and Development), Distinguished Professor of Biology, Macquarie University; Councillor, Climate Council

**Professor Hilary Bambrick** Head of School, Public Health and Social Work, Queensland University of Technology

### **Professor Will Steffen**

Councillor, Climate Council; Climate Scientist, Australian National University

### **Professor Colin Butler**

Public Health, University of Canberra; co-founder BODHI Australia

### **Professor David Karoly**

Leader, Earth Systems and Climate Change Hub National Frank Talbot AM FRZS (NSW) Environmental Science Program CSIRO Oceans & Atmosphere

### **Professor Rick Cavicchioli**

Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, University of NSW

### **Professor John Church**

Climate Change Research Centre, University of NSW

### **Professor Steven Sherwood**

ARC Laureate Fellow, ARC Centre for Climate Science and ARC Centre for Climate Extremes, University of NSW

### **Graeme Pearman AM FAA FTSE**

Former Chief, CSIRO Atmospheric Research; Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne

### lan Dunlop

Former senior executive Royal Dutch Shell; former Chairman of the Australian Coal Association: former CEO of the Australian Institute of Company Directors; chairman the original Australian Government Greenhouse Office Experts Group on Emissions Trading

### **Tim Forcey**

Former AEMO Gas Principal, International Gas Industry Engineer Exxon, Esso BHP, former researcher University of Melbourne Energy Institute (MEI)

### **Assoc. Professor Malte Meinshausen** Melbourne

### Assoc. Professor Bayden Wood

Australian Research Council Future Fellow; Director of Monash Centre for Biospectroscopy, Monash University

### **Dr Peter Sainsbury** Adjunct Associate Professor, School of Public Health University of Sydney

### **Dr Penny Wrum**

Senior Lecturer in Environmental Management, Darwin

Fellow California Academy of Science

Senior Economist, Vivid Economics **Emeritus Professor Mark L Wahlqvist AO** 

### Medicine, Monash; Former Head of Medicine at Prince Henry's Hospital

### **Dr Andrew Glikson**

Climate Science, Australian National University

### **Dr. David Holmes**

Director, Climate Change Communication Research Hub, Monash University

### **Professor David Bowman**

School of Biological Sciences, University of Tasmania

### **Dr Sue Wareham AOM**

President, Medical Association for Prevention of War (Australia)

### **Assoc. Professor Tilman Ruff AM FRACP**

Nossal Institute for Global health, School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne

### **Ben Oquist** Executive Director, The Australia Institute

### **Dr Hugh Saddler**

Honorary Associate Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy. Australian National Unieversity

### **Brett Murphy**

Senior Research Fellow: ARC Future Fellow. Charles Darwin University

### **Fiona Armstrong**

Associate, Melbourne Sustainable Societies Institute, University of Melbourne; Sessional Lecturer, School of Public Health and Human Biosciences, Latrobe University

### Assoc. Professor Victor Galea

Plant Pathologist & Deputy Head, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences, University of Queensland

### Assoc. Professor Tim Cohen

Sciences, University of Wollongong

### Professor John Wiseman

Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute, University of Melbourne

### **Professor Richard Fuller**

University of Queensland **Professor Peter Dart** 

Queensland University of Technology

**Professor Andy Pitman** Climate Scientist, University of NSW



## Visit > tai.org.au