

NSW Government must defend law and climate from coal industry attacks

An open letter to the Government of New South Wales

Allowing new coal mines in NSW is incompatible with the NSW Government's commendable climate policy aimed at achieving net-zero emissions by 2050. It is also incompatible with reaching targets required to avoid the worst impacts of climate change agreed to under the Paris Agreement.

We strongly urge the NSW Government not to cave in to pressure from coal lobbyists to overrule NSW laws that require the full climate impact to be considered in the assessment of new coal mines. These include the important legal precedent of the *Land and Environment Court* in the Rocky Hill case, and State Environmental Planning Policy requirements to consider emissions from burning coal mined in NSW (Scope 3 emissions), which are the main source of emissions from coal mined in NSW.

We also strongly urge the Government to defend its own *Independent Planning Commission* against unwarranted and misleading attacks.

NSW is already experiencing serious impacts of climate change including increasing extreme heat and longer, hotter fire seasons. The hotter conditions and more extreme heatwaves driven by climate change are worsening the impacts of drought. These impacts of climate change are being made worse by emissions from coal mined in NSW. These mines add around 500 million tonnes of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere every year, almost as much as Australia's entire domestic emissions.¹

¹ NSW coal production 2019, OCE (2019) Resources and Energy Quarterly, https://publications.industry.gov.au/publications/resourcesandenergyquarterlyseptember2019/index.html, Australia Institute emissions calculations available on request.

Signatories

Durafacas u Datau Dahautu AC	Nahal Drias in Dharialana an Madisira 1000. A cataolism of the Vanu 1007.
Professor Peter Doherty AC	Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996; Australian of the Year 1997;
Destructive files and	Laureate Professor,
Professor Tim Flannery	Councillor, Climate Council; Australian of the Year 2007; Sustainability, Melb;
Professor Lesley Hughes	Distingushed Professor of Biology Macquarie University; Climate Council Councillor
Professor Hilary Bambrick	Head of School, Public Health and Social Work, Queensland University of Technology
Professor Tilman Ruff AO	Nossal Institute for Global Health, School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne
Dr Peter Tait	Convener Ecology and Environment Group, Public Health Association of Australia
Associate Professor Shauna Murray	Climate Change Cluster (C3), University of Technology, Sydney
Professor Rob Moodie AM	Deputy Head and Professor of Public Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health
Professor Mark Wahlqvist AO	Emeritus Professor, former Professor and Head of Medicine at Prince Henry's Hospital and Monash Medical Centre
Professor John Quiggin	VC Senior Research Fellow, School of Economics, University of Queensland
Adjunct Professor Shilu Tong	Adjunct Professor, School of Public Health and Social Work Institute of Health and Biomedical Innovation
Professor Rick Cavicchioli	Queensland University of Technology School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences UNSW
Professor Will Steffen	Emeritus Professor, Australian National University and Councillor, Climate Council of Australia.
Tim Forcey	Energy consultant, former AEMO Gas Principal, International Gas Industry Engineer Exxon, Esso BHP
Associate Professor Peter Sainsbury	Sydney Medical School, University of Notre Dame
Ian Dunlop	Former senior executive Royal Dutch Shell; former
	Chairman of the Australian Coal Association; former
	CEO of the Australian Institute of Company Directors;
	chairman the original Australian Government Greenhouse
	Office Experts Group on Emissions Trading
Professor John Church	Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales
Professor Steven Sherwood	ARC Laureate Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate System Science and ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes, UNSW Climate Change Research Centre
Professor Michael Ashley	Professor of Astrophysics, University of New South Wales
Adjunct Professor Howard	Honorary Professor, School of Regulation and Global Governance –
Bamsey AM	RegNet, Australian National University
Professor Ian Lowe AO FTSE	Emeritus Professor, Science, Technology and Society, Griffith University
Dr Hugh Saddler	Honorary Associate Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy,
Du Bucht Manuel	Australian National University
Dr Brett Murphy	Senior Research Fellow, Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods, Charles Darwin University
Fiona Armstrong	Founder and Executive Director, Climate and Health Alliance, Board
Tiona Aimstrong	Member, Global Climate and Health Alliance

Professor Peter Dart	Honorary Associate Professor, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences
	University of Queensland
Dr David Holmes	Director, Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub, Monash University
Dr Martin Rice	Head of Research, The Climate Council of Australia, Honorary Associate, Department of Environmental Sciences, Macquarie University
Professor John Wiseman	Prof Research Fellow, Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute, Energy Transition Research Hub and Climate and Energy College, The University of Melbourne
Dr David Shearman AM	Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Adelaide
Professor Andy Pitman	Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes, University of New South Wales
Ben Oquist	Executive Director, The Australia Institute
Richie Merzian	Climate & Energy Program Director, The Australia Institute
Dr Liz Hanna	Chair, Environmental Health Working Group, World Federation of Public Health Associations
Dr Bill Hare	CEO and Managing Director/ Senior Scientist, Climate Analytics
Associate Professor Gavin Mudd	Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering, RMIT University
Professor Philip Jennings	Emeritus Professor of Physics and Energy Studies, Murdoch University
Professor Katrin Meissner	Director, Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales
Professor Hans Lambers	Emeritus Professor at The University of West Australia; Adjunct Professor at Curtin University, Distinguished Professor at China Agricultural University, Beijing, China
Tim Buckley	Director of Energy Finance Studies, Australasia, Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis,
Bruce Robertson	Investment Analyst, Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis
Professor Matthew England	Scientia Professor, Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales
Professor Jeremy Moss	Professor of Political Philosophy, Director, Practical Justice Initiative, University of New South Wales
Professor Robert Brooks	Scientia Professor, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of New South Wales
Greg Mullins AO	Former Commissioner, Fire and Rescue NSW
Professor Karen Hussey	Director, Centre for Policy Futures, University of Queensland
Greg Bourne	Councillor, the Climate Council, Former Regional President BP Australasia
Dr John Van Der Kallen	Rheumatologist, Conjoint Lecturer, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle