OPEN LETTER

DEAR PRESIDENT BIDEN,

We, the undersigned, respectfully request a full and unconditional pardon of Mr. Julian Assange

As independent members of the Australian Parliament and representatives of Australia's leading independent think tanks, committed to the values of transparency, integrity, democratic accountability and press freedom, we write to you to respectfully request the granting of a full and unconditional pardon to Australian citizen, Mr. Julian Assange.

Mr. Assange's recent conviction under the United States Espionage Act sets a deeply troubling precedent for press freedom globally. At a time when that freedom is increasingly under threat, and authoritarianism is on the rise, it is crucial that those committed to democratic accountability, integrity and transparency in both of our countries stand together in solidarity.

As letters written to you by members of the United States Congress and the Australian Parliament regarding Mr. Assange's case indicate, there has long been broad bipartisan support for Mr. Assange's freedom and deep concern about the precedent his conviction may set.

Mr. Assange was required to plead guilty to acts of gathering and disseminating information. These are activities integral to journalism and press freedom.

Such a dangerous precedent endangers journalists worldwide, whilst simultaneously undermining both Australia and the United States' longstanding commitment to press freedom and democratic accountability.

Mr. Assange's case is much bigger than him as an individual. It goes to the heart of the shared values that form the basis of the United States' longstanding alliance with Australia.

A full and unconditional pardon for Mr. Assange would reinforce those shared values at a time when they are more at risk than at any other time in our shared history.

Dr Monique Ryan MP

Independent Member for Kooyong, Australian Federal Parliament

YOURS SINCERELY

Andrew Wilkie MP

Independent Member for Clark, Australian Federal

Dr Emma Shortis

Director, International and Security Affairs, The Australia Institute

Zoe Daniel MP Independent Member for Goldstein, Australian Federal Parliament

Senator David Pocock Independent Senator for the ACT, Australian Federal Parliament

Helen Haines MP Independent Member for Indi, Australian Federal Parliament Parliament

Kylea Tink MP

Independent Federal Member for North Sydney, Australian **Federal Parliament**

Adam Portelli Acting Chief Executive, Media, **Entertainment & Arts Alliance**

Kieran Pender

Associate Legal Director, Human Rights Law Centre

Bill Browne Director, Democracy and Accountability, The Australia Institute

Dr Richard Denniss Executive Director, The Australia Institute

> The Australia Institute