Doctors in the House: Dr Monique Ryan and Dr Sophie Scamps Reflect on their First 12 Months in Politics

Verity Lane Market

Join Independent MPs Dr Sophie Scamps and Dr Monique Ryan as they reflect on their first 12 months in politics.

The rise of the crossbench has changed the Parliament, with a record 10 independents elected last May to a hugely expanded crossbench.

What does this multitude of independent voices mean for Parliament, and for democratic decision making in Australia, especially on issues like climate change and strengthening integrity? Come along and find out!


Dr Sophie Scamps 

Dr Sophie Scamps MP is the Independent Member for the Federal electorate of Mackellar. Sophie made history at the 2022 election by becoming the first Independent to win the Northern Beaches seat since it was first formed in 1949. Sophie won the seat after promising a new way of doing politics, putting the community first and campaigning on a platform of climate action, integrity, and equality.

Dr Monique Ryan 

Dr Monique Ryan is the Independent Member for Federal electorate of Kooyong. She stepped away from her former role as Director of Neurology at the Royal Children’s Hospital and won her seat in the 2022 election with messaging for urgent action on climate change, pushing for a transition to renewables and calling for a need for integrity in politics.  She takes pride in representing her Kooyong community values in Canberra.


(ended on )


Verity Lane Market
Sydney Building
50 Northbourne Ave
Canberra, ACT 2601


Looking for speakers for your next event?

Our experts